Dial&Date

Guide

The Seiko 6R Series, Explained

Seiko's step up from the 4R everyone owns. The jump is real but narrower than the price suggests - and one $250 Orient publishes the same accuracy band as Seiko's premium tier.

By Stephen V.Updated October 5, 2026How we pick

The 6R is worth paying for if you want the 70-hour power reserve. It is not worth paying for if you want a faster movement or a smaller watch. The caliber references publish the 6R35 at 24 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, -15 to +25 seconds a day, a 70-hour reserve, 27.4mm across and 5.25mm tall, with Diashock, hacking and hand-winding. Against the 4R35 in a Presage, that is a tighter published tolerance and 29 more hours; the beat rate is identical.

And here is the fact nobody selling 6R watches puts on the page: Orient publishes the same -15/+25 band for the in-house F6922 that sits in a sub-$300 Kamasu. The 6R is a better movement in several documented ways — but the accuracy guarantee you are paying up for is not one of them.

What the references publish for the 6R35 and 6R15

Spec6R356R15
Jewels2423 / 24 depending on variant
Vibrations per hour21,60021,600
Published accuracy-15 to +25 sec/day-15 to +25 sec/day
Power reserve70 hoursApproximately 50 hours
Diameter27.4mm27.40mm
Height5.25mm5.25mm
Lift angle53 degreesNot stated in the reference read
Shock systemDiashockDiashock
MainspringNot stated in the reference readSpron 510
Hacks / hand-windsBoth, yesBoth, yes
Known variants6R35, 6R35A, 6R35B, 6R35C6R15A, 6R15B, 6R15C, 6R15D

The 6R35 is a 6R15 with a bigger mainspring. That is the whole upgrade.

Read the two columns above again. Same beat rate, same diameter, same height, same shock system, same published accuracy band, the same hacking and hand-winding. The one figure that moved is the power reserve: 50 hours became 70. Seiko replaced the 6R15 with the 6R35 across the Prospex and Presage lines on the strength of that single number.

It is a genuinely useful number — 70 hours clears a full weekend off the wrist, which 50 does not reliably do. Power reserve explained covers why that changes how you live with a watch. But it is worth knowing that the 6R35 is not a new architecture, and that the identical 27.40mm × 5.25mm footprint means a 6R35 watch is no thinner than a 6R15 one was.

6R against 4R: what you actually buy

The 4R family is the one almost everybody meets first — the 4R35 and 4R36 in a Seiko 5 Sports or an entry Presage. Seiko's own instruction manual publishes the 4R family at 21,600 vibrations per hour, approximately 41 hours, and +45 to -35 seconds a day worn on the wrist between 5 and 35°C.

  • Reserve: 70 hours against about 41. The real, daily-life difference.
  • Published tolerance: -15/+25 against -35/+45. A 40-second band instead of an 80-second one. How to read a tolerance converts that to minutes a month.
  • Beat rate: identical.Both 21,600 — six ticks a second. The seconds hand looks exactly the same, which surprises people who expect a "premium" movement to sweep visibly faster. Beat rate explained.
  • Height: the 6R is taller.5.25mm against the 4R family's smaller footprint, so 6R watches are not the thin option.
  • Jewels: 24 against 23 or 24. Which tells you nothing useful — jewel count is a bearing count, not a quality ladder, and Seiko's own catalogue proves it.

For the family below the 6R, the NH-series guide maps every 4R caliber to its unbranded Time Module twin, and movements explained places all of them against the Miyota and Swiss alternatives.

The awkward comparison: a $250 Orient publishes the same band

Orient publishes -15/+25 seconds a dayfor the in-house F6922 — the movement in the Kamasu, the Mako II and the Ray II. That is the same published tolerance as Seiko's 6R35, in a watch that also carries sapphire and 200m for a fraction of the price.

We are not claiming the two movements are equivalent. Seiko's 70-hour reserve is nearly double the Orient's roughly 40 hours, the finishing is a tier up, and the service network is deeper. We are saying that if your reason for buying 6R is "it keeps better time", the published numbers do not support the premium — and Seiko 5 vs Orient Kamasu is where that argument plays out in watches you can buy today.

Which 6R variant letter do you have?

The references catalog the 6R35 as 6R35, 6R35A, 6R35B and 6R35C, and the 6R15 as 6R15A through 6R15D. The trailing letter marks a production revision, not a different movement — the published core figures do not change with it. Chatter about a variant letter that does not appear in the references should be treated as chatter; we apply the same rule to the NH family, where an invented "NH35B" circulated for a while.

Where you find a 6R, and what it costs

6R-powered Seikos — the Prospex divers and the upper Presage references — generally start around the $900 to $1,200 mark at retail and climb from there. That is above this site's ceiling, which is why nothing in our registry runs a 6R, and we would rather state that than pretend otherwise. If you want to shop the tier where a 6R becomes plausible, best automatic watches under $1,000 is the rung to read.

The Seikos you can buy now - and what each publishes

These three are the 4R watches that sit directly under the 6R tier, plus the Orient that matches the 6R35's published accuracy band for a third of the money. Read the reserve column: that is the specification the 6R upgrade actually buys.

  • Seiko Presage Cocktail Time — 4R35, 23 jewels, 41-hour reserve, box Hardlex. The dressy entry point to the Presage line. Full review.
  • Seiko Presage SSA425 —4R39, 24 jewels, Seiko's published -35/+45, and no calendar at all. Full review.
  • Seiko 5 Sports SRPD93 — 4R36, day and date, 100m. The volume Seiko. Full review.
  • Orient Kamasu — F6922, -15/+25 published, sapphire, 200m. The watch that makes the 6R accuracy premium hard to defend. Full review.

What you can buy today

The tier below the 6R - and the Orient that matches its tolerance

No 6R watch is in this site's registry; 6R references sit above our price ceiling. These are the 4R watches directly beneath it, plus the Orient that publishes the same -15/+25 band.

WatchPublished specsBest forPrice
SeikoSeiko Presage Cocktail Time SRPB41
4R35 · 23J41h reserve50m WRBox Hardlex40.5mm · L2L 47.5mm
The best-looking dial you can buy under $500

$399.00

SeikoSeiko Presage Style60's SSA425
4R39 · 24J-35/+45 sec/day50m WRBox Hardlex40.8mm · L2L 47mm
An open heart with a fully documented movement

$595.00

SeikoSeiko 5 Sports SRPD93
4R36 · 24J-35/+45 sec/day100m WRHardlex42.5mm
The one automatic to own if you own one

$280.00

OrientOrient Kamasu
F6922 · in-house-15/+25 sec/day200m WRSapphire41.8mm
The best spec-for-dollar dive watch, full stop

$329.09

#ad · we may earn a commission · Specs as published by the manufacturer (see Sources). Live prices from the Amazon Product API, as of October 5, 2026 — where we have no verified live price we show none rather than a number that has rotted.

Disclosure

Some links here are affiliate links — mostly to Amazon. If you buy through one we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which watch we pick or the price you pay. Prices are pulled live and date-stamped; where we can't verify one, we show none. Full disclosure.

Questions

FAQ

What is the difference between the Seiko 6R35 and 6R15?

Power reserve, and almost nothing else. The references publish both at 21,600 vibrations per hour, -15/+25 seconds a day, 27.40mm across and 5.25mm tall with Diashock, hacking and hand-winding. The 6R15 runs approximately 50 hours; the 6R35 runs 70.

Is the Seiko 6R35 better than the 4R35?

Yes, on two published figures: a 70-hour reserve against roughly 41, and a -15/+25 sec/day band against Seiko's published +45/-35 for the 4R family. The beat rate is identical at 21,600 vibrations per hour, so the seconds hand looks the same, and the 6R is the taller movement.

How accurate is the Seiko 6R35?

The references publish -15 to +25 seconds a day. We have no lab and claim no measurements of our own. For context, Orient publishes the same -15/+25 band for its in-house F6922, which sits in watches costing a fraction as much.

Which Seiko watches use the 6R35?

The Prospex divers and the upper Presage references, generally from roughly $900 upward at retail. That is above this site's price ceiling, so nothing in our registry runs one.

Does the 6R35 hack and hand-wind?

Yes to both, as does the 6R15 before it. So does every modern 4R caliber. The only Seiko family in common circulation that does neither is the old 7S26, which you will still find in the SNK series.

Specs & sources

Specifications on this page are compiled from manufacturer datasheets, official product pages, and published standards. Prices are pulled live from Amazon and date-stamped; nothing is invented.

Keep reading